Back on the Wagon

So I fell off the wagon for a couple of days. The workout wagon that is. One of the joys that summer brings, with all its downtime, is mixing and mingling with friends and family. Dinner out a few nights in a row last week with some rich, decadent food and great friends, and my stomach was displeased with me! I have been eating clean and mostly organic for so long now that if I eat too much bad food, I’m left feeling really bad. Which makes me want to eat better even more. After all, food is supposed to nourish you, energize you and make you feel great, not leave you feeling like a gastric time-bomb.

In order to recoup from my indulgences (tasty as they were), I try to give my digestive system a little break or mini detox. I might stick with juices and smoothies for a day, or I might even do a little intermittent fasting for a day or two. Research has shown that occasional periods of fasting may benefit us as opposed to eating small meals all day long. You can read more about it here and here. Eating less means working out less, to conserve energy, until I feel like my old self again. Yesterday I did a little bit of strength training, but today I was back to the gym in full force.

I let the iPod shuffle do its thing to surprise me. An unusual mix of songs kept me going:

  • “This Is a Call,” Foo Fighters
  • “Times Like These,” Foo Fighters
  • “The Cave,” Mumford & Sons
  • “Whataya Want From Me,” Adam Lambert
  • “Ants Marching,” Dave Matthews Band
  • “Skin,” Madonna
  • “Sexy and I Know It,” LMFAO

Not apologizing for that last one-it got me through! I cooled down with Moby’s “Porcelain” and “The Only Living Boy In New York,” by Simon and Garfunkel…Hey, I’ve got nothing to do today but smile 🙂  Good stuff!

Today was so hot and humid, I was sweating in places I never knew had sweat glands! It’s good to be back. Kickboxing on the agenda for tomorrow.

Return to Camp Mom

Yesterday marked the end of our first ever stint at summer camp, and the girls absolutely loved it. We signed them up for two weeks with the parks department, seeking something educational and outdoorsy. It really helped break up the monotony a little (I didn’t say that, did I?).

Lily drew this picture of her and her aunt (also her camp counselor) digging for bugs with spoons:

Papier mache dinosaur egg:

Pond dipping, leaf rubbing and everything Phoebe could get her hands on:

This picture is not the greatest, but I was so impressed with the tie dye shirts they made:

There was also lots of hiking, they both made some new friends and Phoebe learned how to shoot a bow and arrow-pretty cool! In their absence, I did a ton of much needed reorganizing around the house, and started some projects for school. All around, it was a productive couple of weeks for all!

On Monday, it’s back to Camp Mom.

~Silvana