Grilled Cheese “Waffles”

I’m sure the humble grilled cheese sandwich has been done and redone in countless ways. Varying breads, upgrading cheeses and adding in surprising extras can elevate this comfort food to a new level. For today’s lunch, my goal was something quick, fun and nutritious for my girls to eat, not necessarily a gourmet meal. I also added some new skills to my waffle iron’s resume in the process.

This Tuscan Pane from Trader Joe’s is a nice switch from our usual whole wheat.  It has a good taste and texture, a crust that is palatable to the children, and holds up well for grilling.

Cut each slice in half and lightly butter one side of each. I usually use organic butter or Earth Balance.

On the other side of one slice, spread some guacamole for a nice variation. Tomatoes would do nicely also, but I know my kids love guac.

Then, add cheese of your choice. I used plain old American, but cheddar, Jack or colby would work as well.

Place the second slice on top of the cheese, place in waffle iron and close. It may take a few seconds for the bread to warm up before you are able to close the waffle iron completely. Or you could place something heavy on top of the waffle iron, like a cast iron pan, to weight it down.

It should only take a few minutes for the cheese to melt and the bread to turn golden brown.

We ate this melty, waffley goodness with a nice. light tomato soup for dipping and dunking!

Simple and delicious. Enjoy!

~Silvana